Tuesday, April 16, 2019

Making of The Indian Muse : Context and Perspectives in Indian Poetry in English

Making of The Indian Muse : Context and Perspectives in Indian Poetry in English 

  • Publisher: Nirala Publications, New Delhi (2019)
  • ISBN-10: 8182500273
  • ISBN-13: 978-8182500273
  • https://www.amazon.com/dp/8182500273?ref=myi_title_dp
    Also on Amazon India:

  • Though at the very outset Indian English Poetry imitated the patterns of the British poetry, over the decades the genre has evolved along with Indian ethos and bears a distinctive feature and sensibilities. Since without understanding the nuances of this genre one can’t explore its diversity, the present volume attempts to explore its various dimensions, studying it from numerous perspectives. The book begins with an overview of Indian English Poetry, and moves on to explore the various themes of Pre and Post-Independence period of this genre the writers discussed in the book include Toru Dutt, Rabindranath Tagore, Sri Aurobindo, Sarojini Naidu, Shiv K. Kumar, Nissim Ezekiel, Bibhu Padhi, Jayanta Mahapatra, A.K. Ramanujan, P. Lal, Arun Kolatkar, Kamala Das, Meena Alexande, R. Parthasarathy, Keki N. Daruwalla,Dilip Chitre, Dom Moraes, Adil Jussawalla, Agha Shahid Ali, Vikram Seth, R.Raj Rao, Sujata Bhatt, Yuyutsu Sharma, Robin S Ngangom and Ranjit Hoskote. A must read for all interested in the making of the Indian Muse. 

    A ground breaking volume.. highly recommended to any scholar of Indian literature. -Elisabetta Marino, Associate Professor of English Literature, University of Rome.

     "Goutam Karmakar has curated a much-needed critical collection that traces the history of modern Indian poetry in English.... This is a welcome addition to our scholarship, deepening the depth of our learning and freeing the streams of our wisdom into flow. --Ravi Shankar 

    Abina Habib, Aparna, Bonosree Majhi, Chaitali Giri, Debaditya Mukhopadhyay, Durba Mukherjee, Durga Patva, Ebrahim SK, Hemant Kumar Jha, Hemanga Dutta, Huzaifa Pandit, Indrani Chakraborty Jimmy Sharma, Manisha Bhattacharya, Monika Manidarshan, Nahid Kaiser, Pankti Desai, Parneet Jaggi Prasun Maji, Rima Ghosh, Rimpa Roy, Santanu Ganguly, Seema Sarkar, Subhas Chandra Dasgupta, Sudhir K. Arora, Sutanuka Ghosh Roy, T. Vaudeva Reddy, Tanima Shome, Timothy Jairaj

No comments:

Post a Comment